Shardlow Heritage Centre
Home Page


Visit Shardlow and its Heritage Centre for a fascinating insight into this 18th century canal transhipment port. Follow the village trail, on sale at the Heritage Centre!

LINKS TO OTHER PAGES IN THIS SITE

Home Page (THIS PAGE)
THE WORKING PORT
NOW IN THE FOLLOWING 5 PAGES:
Exhibition and Special Events
REVISED 17 April 2014 
Setting the Scene and 1852 Plan
Brief History of the Village
Carriers by River and Canal at Shardlow

REVISED 3 December 2013 

1882 Map of Shardlow
Boatbuilders at Shardlow
Shardlow - placename and surname
Other Traders in the Canal Port
A Walk through the Village
Local Waterways on Old Postcards
Photo Gallery
Village Services
Food and Drink
Links to Related Sites
Long Horse Bridge replacement
 

UK Waterways web ring member
[ See All Sites | Join | Random | << Prev | Next >>

 Shardlow   Heritage   Centre   is  staffed   entirely  by  local   volunteers.
The Heritage Centre is managed by the Shardlow Heritage Trust which is a Limited Company and Registered Charity
Registered Charity No.1052390
Company No.311226
Company Memorandum of Association and Articles of Association (pdf file)
 membership form

Opening hours are:
Easter - End of October
Saturdays, Sundays & Bank Holidays 12noon - 5.00pm
Free Parking, Admission 75 pence
Accompanied children free
Evening and/or group visits by arrangement.

  • The Centre is housed in the earliest of the canal warehouses and can be found by following the signs to Shardlow from the A50 between Junction 24 of the M1 and Derby. Once in the village look for the Clock Warehouse family pub.  The Centre shares its car park, and is in the Warehouse that lies between the canal and the road. The entrance is on the canal wharf that is accessed from the Clock Warehouse carpark. Postcode: DE72 2GA
  • The Centre is accessible for the disabled and so is the Clock Warehouse.  
  • The Centre was leased from Mansfield Brewery who completely refurbished and equipped it at their own expense as a museum for the village. Mansfield Brewery were taken over by Banks' Brewery and are now part of Marstons plc 
  • The Centre has a small sales area where visitors can purchase reproductions of Edwardian photographs of the village, modern postcards and other local souvenirs, and of course the village trail (25p) - a leaflet describing the interesting features and buildings as you walk round the canal port.

silent counter

last updated on 17 April 2014

This web site is created and owned by Sheila Cooke, M.A., B.Sc., an independent local historian.